
Firefighter Certification Continuing Education Renewal Requirements: 

The following is a summary that will help answer questions about meeting the requirements for maintaining a firefighter certification in Ohio. Although every attempt has been 

made to ensure the accuracy of the following information, in the event of a discrepancy, the language in the Ohio Administrative Code 4765-20 shall apply. The full rule can be 

accessed on our webpage at http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4765-20 . 

The CE hours requirement is calculated based on how long the certificate was active during certification cycle 

(the number of months between the effective date and the expiration date): 

Certification Level 

0 months but less 

than 12 months 

12 months but less than 24 months 

(30%) 

24 months but less than 36 months 

(60%) 

36 months or more 

(100%) 

Volunteer Firefighter 

Firefighter I 

Firefighter II 

0 hours 

but renewal 

application must 

still be submitted 

18 CE hours – Must be fire-service 

related and approved by a fire chief or 

program director. 

CE courses may be completed online, at 

a fire charter training institution, or 

through in-service training programs 

conducted by your affiliated fire 

department.   

The firefighter is responsible for 

maintaining Certificates of Completion 

issued from such training. 

36 CE hours – Must be fire-service 

related and approved by a fire chief or 

program director. 

CE courses may be completed online, at 

a fire charter training institution, or 

through in-service training programs 

conducted by your affiliated fire 

department.   

The firefighter is responsible for 

maintaining Certificates of Completion 

issued from such training. 

54 CE hours – Must be fire-service 

related and approved by a fire chief or 

program director. 

CE courses may be completed online, at 

a fire charter training institution, or 

through in-service training programs 

conducted by your affiliated fire 

department.   

The firefighter is responsible for 

maintaining Certificates of Completion 

issued from such training. 

Fire Safety Inspector 0 hours  

but renewal 

application must 

still be submitted 

10 specialty CE hours  

devoted to any of the following topics: 

 The theory of fire code enforcement;

 Enforcement of fire codes;

 Life safety system of building and

uses;

 The safe use and maintenance of

facilities, building, and uses which are

subject to the state of Ohio fire code;

 The safe handling of materials which

pose a fire hazard;

 Fire code administration;

 Legal method of code enforcement;

 Legal rights of landlords and tenants

under federal, state, and local laws;

 The application, installation, use &

interpretation of NFPA standards.

20 specialty CE hours  

devoted to any of the following topics: 

 The theory of fire code enforcement;

 Enforcement of fire codes;

 Life safety system of building and

uses;

 The safe use and maintenance of

facilities, building, and uses which are

subject to the state of Ohio fire code;

 The safe handling of materials which

pose a fire hazard;

 Fire code administration;

 Legal method of code enforcement;

 Legal rights of landlords and tenants

under federal, state, and local laws;

 The application, installation, use &

interpretation of NFPA standards

30 specialty CE hours  

devoted to any of the following topics: 

 The theory of fire code enforcement;

 Enforcement of fire codes;

 Life safety system of building and

uses;

 The safe use and maintenance of

facilities, building, and uses which are

subject to the state of Ohio fire code;

 The safe handling of materials which

pose a fire hazard;

 Fire code administration;

 Legal method of code enforcement;

 Legal rights of landlords and tenants

under federal, state, and local laws;

 The application, installation, use &

interpretation of NFPA standards.
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Unaffiliated Firefighter Continuing Education Options 

An applicant who RESIDES IN OHIO, but is not affiliated with an Ohio fire department, may complete continuing education through the 

following: 

1. Training approved by the applicant's fire chief (if affiliated with a fire department in another state or military); 

2. Continuing education courses approved by a program director of an Ohio-chartered fire training program; and/or 

3. Fire service training received by any other entity approved by the executive director, including but not limited to, the following entities: 

a. "National Fire Academy;" 

b. "Fire Department Instructors Conference;" 

c. "Fire-Rescue International;" 

d. "National Domestic Preparedness Consortium." 

Certificate holders should contact the Division of EMS Fire Education section to confirm applicability of CE. 

 

An applicant who DOES NOT RESIDE IN OHIO and is not affiliated with an Ohio fire department may complete continuing education 

through the following: 

1. Training approved by the applicant's fire chief (if affiliated with a fire department in another state or military); 

2. Training from a fire training institution approved by the licensing agency in another state; and/or 

3. Training received by any other entity approved by the executive director, including but not limited to the following entities: 

a. "National Fire Academy;" 

b. "Fire Department Instructors Conference;" 

c. "Fire-Rescue International;" 

d. "National Domestic Preparedness Consortium." 

Certificate holders should contact the Division of EMS Fire Education section to confirm applicability of CE. 
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Assistant Fire, Fire and Fire Safety Inspector Instructor Continuing Education/Teaching Renewal Requirements: 

 

The following is a summary that will help answer questions about meeting the requirements for maintaining a fire-related instructor certification in Ohio. Although every attempt 

has been made to ensure the accuracy of the following information, in the event of a discrepancy, the language in the Ohio Administrative Code 4765-21 shall apply. The full rule 

can be accessed on our webpage at http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4765 . 

 

 The CE and teaching hours requirement is calculated based  

on how long the certificate was active during certification cycle  

(the number of months between the effective date and the expiration date): 

 

Certification Level 
0 months but less than 

12 months 

12 months but less than 

24 months (30%) 

24 months but less than 

36 months (60%) 

36 months or more 

(100%) 

 

Assistant Fire Instructor: 

 

 Must maintain an active Volunteer Firefighter, 

Firefighter I or Firefighter II certificate 

 Can teach up to fire certification level (Volunteer 

Firefighter, Firefighter I or Firefighter II) 

 Responsible for maintaining CE and teaching 

completion documentation 

 

 

 

 

No requirements  

but renewal application 

must still be submitted 

 

 

 

 

2 hours instructional CE 

and 

2.65 hours of teaching 

. 

 

 

 

 

4 hours instructional CE 

and 

5.3 hours of teaching 

 

 

 

 

6 hours instructional CE 

and 

8 hours of teaching 

 

 

Fire Instructor: 

 

 Must maintain an active Volunteer Firefighter, 

Firefighter I or Firefighter II certificate 

 Can teach up to fire certification level (Volunteer 

Firefighter, Firefighter I or Firefighter II) 

 Responsible for maintaining CE and teaching 

completion documentation 

 

 

 

 

No requirements  

but renewal application 

must still be submitted 

 

 

 

 

2 hours instructional CE 

and 

8 hours of teaching 

 

 

 

 

4 hours instructional CE 

and 

16 hours of teaching 

 

 

 

 

6 hours instructional CE 

and 

24 hours of teaching 

 

 

Fire Safety Inspector Instructor: 

 

 Must maintain an active Fire Safety Inspector 

certificate 

 Can teach topics related directly to fire safety 

inspection 

 Responsible for maintaining CE and teaching 

completion documentation 

 

 

 

 

No requirements  

but renewal application 

must still be submitted 

 

 

 

 

2 hours instructional CE 

and 

8 hours of teaching 

 

 

 

4 hours instructional CE 

and 

16 hours of teaching 

 

 

 

6 hours instructional CE 

and 

24 hours of teaching 
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